Qualities of Quality

Labs

I’m currently on parental leave, which is something that leaves very little time for any concentrated work effort because your first priority is to be on-call to solve the problems of a baby and you get interrupted all the time. But in between interruptions you can reflect on things and sometimes respond to email threads. I’ve been thinking about one topic in particular, namely quality, over the last week or two, and now my son is asleep, so I’m going to try to write up a blog post about it. In this post, I’m making the claim that

Developer-facing quality is a completely different thing from end-user facing quality, and is usually more important.

In one of the email threads I’ve been responding to, I said that “near-perfect quality code is … a meta-feature” meaning it affects and improves all other features, and that “it’s really a requirement to achieve sustainable…

View original post 1,189 more words

Leave a Reply

